Government to Issue Cholera Vaccination in Six Counties that are at High Risk.

The government has sanctioned to give out  Cholera Vaccination  which will be targeting at least two million people who are at high-risk.

In a meeting chaired by President William Ruto at State House on Tuesday, it was noted the number of fatalities resulting from Cholera-related outbreaks  are the counties of Nairobi, Murang’a, Kajiado, Garissa, Nakuru and Uasin Gishu.

“Cabinet urges all Kenyans to continue exercising high hygiene standards as was prescribed at the height of Covid-19 disease containment measures,” read a communiqué from the office of the President.

In Garissa County, four people have  been reported dead while 320 cases have been confirmed.

Garissa County Health CEC Ahmenasir Omar said that most of the cases are from four refugee camps of Hagdera, Ifo, Dagahley and Saretho.

“Most of the cases are still within the refugee camps, but then the cases now have also spilled over to the host community. We are having several of our sub-counties now affected.”


“We have been assured by UNICEF together with the Kenya Red Cross that they are going to work very closel. We have the officer in charge of nutrition here and therefore we’ll use the health facilities, dispensaries to reach out to those under 5 because they are the most vulnerable.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.